Posted in | Nanobusiness

Millennium Prize Laureate Paid Visit to Beneq

Professor Stephen Furber, one of the three laureates for this year's Millennium Prize, paid Beneq a morning visit as part of the activities leading to the prize-giving ceremony on Wednesday June 9th. Beneq arranged a diverse program for prof. Furber and his entourage, consisting of technical presentations, stimulating discussions and a comprehensive tour of the facilities.

Beneq CEO, Mr Sampo Ahonen, describes his impressions from the meeting: "It is truly gratifying to meet distinguished world-class professionals and leaders of challenging research. In a matter of only hours, mutual interests and subjects of development can develop and change, via open discussions and think-tanking, into viable opportunities and new ways of thinking. When it comes to open innovation, this type of brain-storming is of an essence. If you don't open up and give something, you will never receive anything."

Professor Stephen Byram Furber, FRS, FREng, FBCS and FIEE (b. 1953, Manchester, England) is ICL Professor of Computer Engineering at the School of Computer Science at the University of Manchester. He is best known for his work at Acorn where he was one of the designers of the BBC Micro and the ARM 32-bit RISC microprocessor. Prof. Furber's research interests include asynchronous systems, ultra-low-power processors for sensor networks, on-chip interconnect and GALS (globally asynchronous locally synchronous) and neural systems engineering.

The bi-annual Millennium Technology Prize is the world's biggest technology prize and it is awarded by the Technology Academy Finland, an independent fund established by Finnish industry and the Finnish state in partnership. The aims of the prize are to promote technological research and innovation that have a positive impact on the quality of life, alleviate fears towards technological change and encourage discussion between technology specialists and societal decision makers. The previous winners are Sir Tim Berners-Lee (2004), Prof. Shuji Nakamura (2006) and Prof. Robert Langer (2008).

Tell Us What You Think

Do you have a review, update or anything you would like to add to this news story?

Leave your feedback