Posted in | Nanoanalysis

NPS Researcher Wins Fulbright Scholar Award for Work Using a Nanonics AFM Inside an SEM

Nanonics Imaging warmly congratulates Distinguished Professor Dr. Nancy Haegel of the Physics Department at the Naval Postgraduate School (NPS) in Monterey, CA for winning a 2012 Fulbright scholar award for her research and lecturing in near-field scanning optical microscopy.

Haegel's work will take her to Hebrew University in Israel, where she will have the opportunity to work with and learn from Professor Aaron Lewis of the Department of Applied Physics, a world-renowned expert and pioneer in near-field imaging techniques.

Professor Haegel developed a novel system for imaging carrier transport within semiconductor nanostructures using the Nanonics MultiView 2000 AFM inside a scanning electron microscope (SEM).

"It is a great honor to be selected by the Foreign Scholarship Board for a Fulbright award to Israel," said Haegel. "I am very excited about the opportunity to participate in cutting-edge research at Hebrew University and also to help build the international relationships and collaborations that are central to the Fulbright Program. To do the best job in teaching and research, we always need to be learning new things and seeing the world from different perspectives. This is a great opportunity to do exactly that."

Among Haegel's many previous honors are a David and Lucile Packard Fellowship in Science and Engineering (1988), a Humboldt Fellowship at the Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics (2000), the American Physical Society Prize for Research at an Undergraduate Institution (2004), the Schieffelin and Griffin Awards for Teaching Excellence at NPS (2008, 2010). Professor Haegel is a member of the Board of Trustees of the University of Notre Dame and recently completed a three-year term on the American Physical Society Committee on the Status of Women in Physics.

The Fulbright Scholar Program is administered by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars, and sponsored by the United States Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. The program sends 800 U.S. faculty and professionals abroad each year.

Tell Us What You Think

Do you have a review, update or anything you would like to add to this news story?

Leave your feedback