Prof D. Wayne Goodman

Distinguished Professor and Robert A. Welch Chair

Department of Chemistry

Texas A&M University
College Station
United States
PH: +1 (979) 845-0214
Fax: +1 (979) 945-6822
Email: [email protected]


Wayne Goodman joined the faculty of the Chemistry Department at Texas A&M in 1988 where is currently Distinguished Professor and the Robert A. Welch Chair. Previously he was Head of the Surface Science Division at Sandia National Laboratories. He is the recipient of the Ipatieff Award of the American Chemical Society in 1983, the Colloid and Surface Chemistry Award of the American Chemical Society in 1993, the Yarwood Medal of the British Vacuum Society in 1994, a Humboldt Research Award in 1995, a Distinguished Research Award of Texas A&M University in 1997, the Giuseppe Parravano Award in 2001, the Adamson Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Surface Chemistry of the American Chemical Society, a Fulbright Distinguished Scholar Award in 2002, and the Gabor A. Sormorjai Award for Creative Research in Catalysis of the American Chemical Society in 2005. In 2008 he was the recipient of the JoAnn Treat Research Excellence Award of the TAMU Research Foundation and in 2009 the Distinguished Scientist Award of Sigma Xi. In 2009 he was also appointed a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry and a Fellow of the American Chemical Society.

His research interests are directed toward the study of catalytic reactions on atomically clean and chemically modified surfaces using the full complement of modern surface science techniques. The materials being investigated include metal single crystals, oxide thin films, and metal clusters supported on thin oxide films.

Ask A Question

Do you have a question you'd like to ask this Expert?

Leave your feedback