2003 Foresight Institute Feynman Prizes For Nanotechnology Awarded - News

The Foresight Institute, has awarded four prizes to nanotechnology leaders at the 11th Foresight Conference on Molecular Nanotechnology.

The 2003 Foresight Institute Feynman Prizes were presented to Drs. Marvin Cohen, Steven Louie and Carlo Montemagno. The Foresight Prize in Communication was presented to nanotechnology commentators Tim Harper and Paul Holister. The Foresight Distinguished Student Award went to physics graduate student, Ahmet Yildiz.

The Foresight Institute Feynman Prizes are awarded in two categories; experimental and theoretical advances in nanotechnology. Dr Marvin L. Cohen and Dr Steven G. Louie of the University of California at Berkeley, Department of Physics, were awarded the theoretical prize for their contributions to the understanding of the behaviour of materials. Their models of the molecular and electronic structures of new materials allow for the prediction and understanding of material properties like structure, surface conditions and interactions with other materials. Many of their predictions have been confirmed experimentally.

The experimental prize went to Dr. Carlo Montemagno of the University of California, Los Angeles, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, for his pioneering research into methods of integrating single molecule biological motors with nano-scale silicon devices. His work opens up new possibilities for nanomachines as the controlled movement of nano-scale and molecular parts are fundamental to the development of molecular machines.

The Foresight Institute Prize in Communication was awarded to Tim Harper, President, and Paul Holister, Chief Information Architect, of Cientifica for educating the nanotechnology community about the long-term potential of molecular nanotechnology.

The 2003 Foresight Institute Distinguished Student Award was presented to physics graduate student, Ahmet Yildiz, of the University of Illinois of Urbana, Champaign, for his work in unravelling the motion of the molecular motor myosin V, which will be useful in the design of artificial molecular motors.

Posted 15th October 2003

Disclaimer: The views expressed here are those of the author expressed in their private capacity and do not necessarily represent the views of AZoM.com Limited T/A AZoNetwork the owner and operator of this website. This disclaimer forms part of the Terms and conditions of use of this website.


Please use one of the following formats to cite this article in your essay, paper or report:

  • APA

    Harper, Tim. (2016, October 05). 2003 Foresight Institute Feynman Prizes For Nanotechnology Awarded - News. AZoNano. Retrieved on July 22, 2024 from https://www.azonano.com/article.aspx?ArticleID=51.

  • MLA

    Harper, Tim. "2003 Foresight Institute Feynman Prizes For Nanotechnology Awarded - News". AZoNano. 22 July 2024. <https://www.azonano.com/article.aspx?ArticleID=51>.

  • Chicago

    Harper, Tim. "2003 Foresight Institute Feynman Prizes For Nanotechnology Awarded - News". AZoNano. https://www.azonano.com/article.aspx?ArticleID=51. (accessed July 22, 2024).

  • Harvard

    Harper, Tim. 2016. 2003 Foresight Institute Feynman Prizes For Nanotechnology Awarded - News. AZoNano, viewed 22 July 2024, https://www.azonano.com/article.aspx?ArticleID=51.

Tell Us What You Think

Do you have a review, update or anything you would like to add to this article?

Leave your feedback
Your comment type

While we only use edited and approved content for Azthena answers, it may on occasions provide incorrect responses. Please confirm any data provided with the related suppliers or authors. We do not provide medical advice, if you search for medical information you must always consult a medical professional before acting on any information provided.

Your questions, but not your email details will be shared with OpenAI and retained for 30 days in accordance with their privacy principles.

Please do not ask questions that use sensitive or confidential information.

Read the full Terms & Conditions.