Argonne Scientist Named American Physical Society Fellow

Dennis Mills of the U.S. Department of Energy's Argonne National Laboratory has been elected a fellow of the American Physical Society. The honor recognizes his development of synchrotron X-ray optics and related techniques, the build-out of beamlines at the Advanced Photon Source at Argonne and the development of X-ray monochromators, phase plates, and timing techniques.

Dennis Mills, recently elected a fellow of the American Physical Society, has made education a priority as well as scientific progress, founding the National Neutron and X-ray School for graduate students.

He has also been recognized for his guidance at the Journal of Synchrotron Radiation and for initiating the National Neutron and X-ray School.

He is currently deputy associate lab director of photon sciences and deputy director of the Advanced Photon Source, which provides the hemisphere's most brilliant x-ray beams for research in almost all scientific disciplines. Mills' many awards include the Advanced Photon Source Arthur H. Compton Award in 1998 and the University of Chicago Pinnacle of Education Award in 2008.

Mills earned his Ph.D. degree and master's degree in applied physics at Cornell University and his bachelor's degree in physics from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

Tell Us What You Think

Do you have a review, update or anything you would like to add to this news story?

Leave your feedback